Making-Of series: Logo design in Adobe Premiere

In this post, I’ll be showing you how I made this:

This video was an extension of my ‘Making-Of series: Heads up!‘ post. I took the graphic that I had made for my header and turned it into an animated video. If you want to see how I made it, carry on reading!

Making your video

The first thing I did was load up Adobe Premiere Pro. The size of my work space was already predetermined by the size of my Photoshop layers, which was w:1920 x h:1080, which is the average size for television and video uploads. Upon opening the project, I immediately made a save file of my work in an appropriate folder area to make sure I always had the opportunity to save it quickly and could find it quickly if I needed to.

To actually make a project in Premiere Pro, you have to have already had different files saved via Photoshop. For example, the blue of my video was already a layer I had made in Photoshop. To do this, I simply put different elements on different layers so they could be turned on and off quickly to save my layers faster. It’ll be easier to show you this rather than explain it!

1

In the image above, you can see how I’ve split all of my text into separate layers. After I’d done this, I then saved each individual layer as a PSD file to then load into Premiere Pro. I added these files to Premiere Pro by double clicking on the ‘Project‘ box in the bottom left and loading in each individual PSD file. This was what my project work space looked like when I had loaded in my individual PSD files:

2

After I had done that, it was simply a case of dragging each individual file into the timeline on the bottom right of the programme. To control each component separately, you would have to put them all on different channels as shown below:

3

In the above screenshot, I had already adjusted the times that I wanted certain components to come in and how long I wanted them to be on the screen for. It was then that I started to add in certain effects, like changing the opacity. To do this, you simply add key frames in the ‘Effect Controls‘ panel at the top left of the programme. In the example below, I had added two key frames – the first key frame being an opacity of 0%, and the second being an opacity of 100%. This gave the effect of the N fading in. I did this on all of my other components to give a smooth effect. I have circled where the key frames for this channel start and end:

4

I continued to do this throughout my project until I got the desired effect, which was the letters fading in one-by-one and the bubbles fading in and out behind the text. With more practice and time, I could have done more to this but I feel like the animation itself is pretty minimal and simplistic!

Uploading your video

After you have made and saved your video, then it is time to upload it to YouTube and get the embed code for you to stick it on your website. To upload it to YouTube, firstly you have to have an account – this can be done using the sign up button or by using your Google account (if you have one).

To upload your video to YouTube, you have to press the Upload button on the top right of the screen. There, you will be able to choose your video and change certain aspects of it – here you can add royalty free music, choose the thumbnail and even add subtitles if you need to. Here is the place to customise your video to your hearts content!

After you’ve uploaded your video to YouTube, you need to get the embed code. This can be found underneath your video in the share section. Below is a screenshot of what you need to copy:

5

All you need to do then is copy this code and paste it into a blog post or a page and you’re done! You can find my video on my Logo Design – YouTube Link page!

Thank you for reading!

You can find me on Twitter here!

Or you can contact me here!

 

.

Leave a Reply!

