Making-Of series: How to set up your own WordPress

If you’re reading this, you probably already have a WordPress. However, if you don’t, then this post is perfect for you! In this post, I’ll be talking about how I started my WordPress and I will show you how to make your own!

Making your WordPress

The first thing to do is to go to the WordPress.com site! Here, you will see several different options – the easiest one to click is ‘Get started‘.

 

Screenshot_2.png

After clicking ‘get started‘, you will then be led to a page with four different boxes. These boxes have different design layouts for your WordPress site. Because I have a lot of large images with a lot of text on my blog, I felt like the first box would be more appropriate. This option is completely up to you!

You are then led to a page which tells you to pick a theme. I chose theme ‘Twenty Sixteen‘ to start off with because I liked how it was set out, but you can choose any of the other themes available for now (or skip this step completely by pressing ‘Skip for now‘ at the bottom of the screen!)

Screenshot_3.png

The next step is to name your WordPress site. Here, again, is where you can pick anything you want! Although, it’s probably a good idea to make sure it isn’t something ridiculous! I named mine mindofaustin because the site is going to be about things that I make and publish, and is stuff that comes from my mind – therefore, mindofaustin seemed the most appropriate.

Screenshot_4.png

When making your WordPress site (unless you are willing to buy hosting) it is best to choose the first option (highlighted) because it is completely free!

Screenshot_6.png

The last step involves you putting in some information to make your WordPress actually belong to you – this is where you put in your email address, your username and a password. I won’t be showing these for obvious reasons!

Screenshot_7.png

Accessing your WordPress site

After signing up and confirming your email address, you will then be able to log-in to your WordPress account. This will bring you to the ‘Reader page – from here, you can see the posts of any other blogs you follow. To actually get to your WordPress dashboard, in the address bar at the top of your browser, you have to type in the name of your WordPress site with ‘/wp-admin‘ at the end – for example, mindofaustin.wordpress.com/wp-admin.

From your dashboard, you can make posts, approve, spam or trash comments made on your blog posts, manage media and change the settings of your dashboard. Also, from here, by clicking on ‘Appearance > Themes‘ you can change the theme of your site. I’m using free the theme Twenty Twelve because it suits the layout of my posts the best!

It’s all up to you from here! From your dashboard you control everything that happens with your WordPress, so feel free to explore! If you’d like me to look at your newly set-up WordPress blog, leave a link in the comments!

Nicole Austin, Leeds Trinity University

Contact me here!

Find me on Twitter here!

Leave a Reply!

